Skip to main content

The Office of Service-Learning annually recognizes faculty excellence with the Service-Learning Teaching Excellence Award and the Service-Learning Research Excellence Award.

Additionally, faculty holding Professor or Associate Professor rank may apply or be nominated for the Engaged Scholar Award, offered through the Office of the Vice President for Public Service and Outreach. The OSL is also pleased to be able to support faculty nominations for UGA-internal recognitions (such as campus teaching awards) and external awards for engagement and service-learning (e.g., by the Gulf-South Summit, IARSLCE, ESC, Campus Compact, etc.). Please contact the OSL director or associate director with questions about award nominations or support letters.  

The Service-Learning Teaching Excellence Award recognizes UGA faculty for excellence in developing, implementing, and sustaining academic service-learning opportunities for UGA students in domestic and/or international settings. The Service-Learning Research Excellence Award recognizes UGA faculty for excellence in research and scholarship related to or resulting from academic service-learning. Each award, established in 2011, carries a $2,500 faculty development award. UGA faculty members in any career track are eligible to apply. 

Nominations by deans and department heads, faculty colleagues, or self-nominations are accepted. Nomination/application packets should follow the stated guidelines (available below during Fall semester) and be assembled into a single PDF for submission. 

Nominations/applications for the 2024 awards are due no later than Dec. 1, 2023.

Download the applications here: 

Past Recipients of the Service-Learning Teaching Excellence Award: 

Katie Darby Hein, 2023

Kim Skobba, 2023

Katherine Melcher, 2022 

Gary T. Green, 2021 

Candice Hollenbeck, 2021 

Sarah Shannon, 2020 

Kristina Jaskyte Bahr, 2020 

Caree Cotwright, 2019 

Elizabeth Davis, 2019 

Cecilia Herles, 2019 

Melissa Landers-Potts, 2018 

Jerry Shannon, 2018 

Carol Britton Laws, 2017 

Sungkyung Lee, 2017 

Emily Sahakian, 2016 

Gretchen Thomas, 2016 

Kris Irwin, 2015 

Michael Marshall, 2015 

Betina Kaplan, 2014 

Corey W. Johnson, 2013 

Katherine F. Thompson, 2013 

Stacey R. Kolomer, 2012 

Deanna McEwen, 2012 

Pratt Cassity, 2011 

Gwynn Powell, 2011 

Past Recipients of the Service-Learning Research Excellence Award: 

Jon Calabria, 2023

Gary T. Green, 2022 

Lance Palmer, 2020 

Joseph W. Goetz, 2019 

Abigail Borron, 2018 

Tiffany Washington, 2017 

Kimberly Skobba, 2016 

Peter Smagorinsky, 2014 

Su-I Hou, 2011

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602